Composition of the Steering Committee of GD

The Steering Committee (SC) supervises the International Symposium on Graph Drawing and Network Visualization (GD), formerly known as International Symposium on Graph Drawing. In particular, it appoints the program committee (PC) chairs, the organizing chairs, and discusses the overall strategy of the symposium, including the publication of the proceedings.

The SC is dedicated to representing the interests and values of the GD conference and its community. It is committed to fostering an inclusive and diverse composition, aiming to reflect the varied perspectives and backgrounds within GD.

The SC consists of four types of members:

- (1) **Founding members:** the founding members of the International Symposium on Graph Drawing serve in the Steering Committee until they voluntarily step down.
- (2) **Rotating members:** program committee chairs of the previous, current and next GD conferences.
- (3) **Elected members:** three members elected by the GD community.
- (4) **Appointed member:** one member selected by the SC.

Each non-permanent SC member serves for approximately three years counted as follows. If one enters the SC between GD x and x+1, one will serve on the SC until being replaced by a new member of the same type between GD x+3 and GD x+4.

The PC chairs for GD x are selected by the steering committee between GD x-2 and GD x-1.

The elected members are elected every three years by the community in a two-phase process that is initiated after the preceding GD has taken place. In the first phase, the community nominates a pool of candidates for the second phase. In the second phase, each member of the community can vote for up to three candidates from the pool. The three candidates with the highest number of votes are invited to join the SC. In case of ties the chair of the SC makes a decision.

The appointed member is elected by the SC members soon after the above elections have taken place. The appointment by the SC will take into account multiple criteria, in particular the outcome of the community elections, but also the scientific, geographic, and demographic diversity of the SC composition.

Both the election of the elected members and the election of the appointed member are carried out such that votes are secret. The appointment is renewable once.

The SC chair is appointed by the SC for a three-year term (even if her/his term as a member of the SC would end earlier). The appointment takes place in the year of the elections and is renewable once.

Both the SC chair and the PC chairs are appointed only when the SC is complete.

This document has been discussed and approved by the SC in December 2024 and takes effect on January 1, 2025. Any change to this document must be discussed within the SC and approved by at least 2/3 of the members of the SC.